july 21 2024

I finished Fullmetal Alchemist: Brotherhood yesterday! It was such a fun experience, I barely felt the 64 episodes go by. That marks the longest show I've watched so far. If I had seen it as a young gay teen, I probably would have created so many silly ships of the background women characters. Also, it's kind of fun to imagine a society in which Roy and Ling/Greed are butches. I enjoyed how much respect the series gives its women. It's one of my favorites now, among Dungeon Meshi, Utena, and Mob Psycho 100. I'm incredible excited for the Witch Hat Atelier anime-- it looks gorgeous. My copy of the first book will be here tomorrow! For now, onto Gundam: Witch from Mercury!

A drawing of Roy Mustang and Ling Yao from Fullmetal Alchemist. A note above them says, 'They should've been butch smh.' Next to them is a doodle of Sheska hugging Maria Ross with hearts floating from her head.
I wish there was more Sheska screentime...


This leads to me reflecting on the role of fandom in my life. Like it is for a lot of people, there's been so many positive outcomes and negative experiences. On one hand, I met my partner through The Locked Tomb community on Tumblr. I've gotten pretty good at avoiding drama, but there's always a looming presence. On the other hand, some online spaces have put me in situations that weren't so great for a kid to be in. I will always be grateful for the community and passion, but ideally I'd like to live a more offline life moving forward. I feel like the friendships I have with people offline are more fulfilling and last longer. I've been trying to curate my Tumblr to be more art focused instead of geared towards specific fandoms, but it's hard! I have mutuals from years back whose posts aren't what I look for on Tumblr, but I enjoy keeping up with them nonetheless. Curating my online spaces is definitely an ongoing process.

Honestly, I even have mixed feelings about being a furry even though I've been in that community since I was younger. Part of me wants to live a "normal" life as I work towards starting my career, but there's such a huge nostalgia factor around the furry fandom for me. At the very least, I have to keep one foot in that door because my fursuit will likely arrive by the end of the year. I'll use my first furry con/suit debut as a way to gauge how much I want to be involved.

Thanks for reading my blog post today! Goodnight.


Return to blog